Penarth And Dinas Runners Presentation Evening

28 Jan Penarth And Dinas Runners Presentation Evening

Again this year Lyn had sourced lovely blue glass trophies which I am sure winners will be proud to display.

The first award of the evening was Club Member of the Year. Members had been voting since December for the member they felt had gone the extra mile. There were some excellent contenders for the award, but the member with the most votes was Ruth Cann. Ruth received numerous votes and some lovely comments were made with the votes which highlighted how appreciative members are of Ruth structuring track sessions. Some comments made:

“Thanks for track encouragement”.

“Showing us that persistence can show through into improved personal running performance. (Only minor sour grapes that she now outpaces me!)

“For leading great track sessions and turning up whatever the weather”.

Ruth then happily assisted with the presentation to others of their awards.

Moving on to the main Club Championship:

The winner of the Female Club Championship was Bethan ap Glyn and the winner of the Male Club Championship was Richard Jackson-Hookins who also retained the trophy for a third year.

Trophies were present to the Category winners who were present:

Category Winner Runner Up Third

Senior Men Paul Morton Ben Butler-Madden Kit Lambert

*Senior Women No 1st No 2nd No 3rd

Veteran Men (40) Jon Lewis Cameron Large Peter Trott

Veteran Women (35) Ruth Cann Helen Griffiths Louise Hunt

Veteran Men (50) Steve Goodfellow Stephen Farmer Frank Atherton

Veteran Woman (45) Bev Warburton Mandy Barrington Andrea Goodfellow

Veteran Men (60) Malcolm Bradley Abyd Quinn Azziz No 3rd

Veteran Female (55) Yvonne Williams Shirley Howman No 3rd

*The only Senior Woman who had achieved four qualifying races was Bethan who had won the overall championship and was therefore excluded from the category.

We then moved on to the awards for Improver of the Year. Our Team Captains Ben and Lisa monitor performances throughout the year and assess which male and female runner has consistently improved on previous performances.

Female Winner was Ruth, for a second year, and the Male Winner was Paul Morton. Both include track in their training and are definitely reaping the rewards.

Next up was the Off Road Championship. Thanks was extended to Malcolm for the organisation of the Off-Road championship and finding some great races for us.

Female Winner was Cath Tailby, with Tania Miranda Runner Up and Yvonne in third place.

Male Winner was Frank Atherton, with Malcolm Bradley Runner Up and Colin Caesar in third place.

The final award of the evening was Chairman’s Choice. The award went to Lisa Cleary in recognition of the contribution she has made to club, not just last year but over the years. Lisa is the longest serving committee member and is the Club Secretary. She encourages members to take part in Gwent League, brings together the main Club Championship, acts as Ladies Team Captain. Lisa has an in depth knowledge of Welsh Athletics and the running community in general. She is certainly an asset to P&D and her encouragement and support of members is exceptional.

No Presentation could conclude without thanking Lyn Evans for all he does for the club. The Presentation complete, the buffet opened. Some lovely items piled on the table for us to share.

Then it was time for The Steve Hill Quiz. This is Steve’s 10th Year of preparing a quiz to follow the Presentation. It was a great quiz and the worthy winning team consisted of:

Debbie Williams, Shirley, Louise, Gareth Rothwell, Jon Lewis, Andrea Goodfellow and Kit for the second half. Well done team.

After the quiz drinking and socialising continued until closing time.

No Comments

Post A Comment