P & D Presentation Evening 27/01/2017

05 Feb P & D Presentation Evening 27/01/2017

The evening kicked off with Lyn reading a message from Clem, who was obviously missing us and would have liked to have been with us for the evening. Thanks to Clem for all the kind comments.

The first award of the evening was Club Member of the Year. Members had been voting since December for the memberthey felt had gone the extra mile. The votes came in hard and fast and the sentiments expressed were lovely to read. Ben Butler-Madden received the highest number of votes and the following extract from a member sums up how grateful members are for what he does for the club and individuals.

“I would like to nominate Ben , always helpful, always brilliant advice , helps on Barry parkrun , track sessions for everyone, devoted to club , won and ran amazing races this year representing club and Wales at those higher levels of running, always there on sidelines seeing every runner in and first to ask how it went and how did you do? just always got the time – many runners of his caliber wouldn’t give novice runners the time of day- even down to which trainers at start of a race! Sums up P&D spirit for me.” 

Ben then happily assisted with the presentation to others of their awards.

Starting with the Main Club Championship, the winner of the Female Club Championship was Deb Evans who retained the trophy for a second year. The winner of the Male Club Championship was Richard Jackson-Hookins who also retained the trophy for a second year.

All the category winners were present and the awards were presented as follows:

Category​​                        Winner                                    ​​Runner Up​                 ​Third

Senior Men​​                   Ben Butler-Madden​                      ​Marc Durkin                  Paul Morton

Senior Women             ​Lindsey Hunt                                 Ruth Cann​​                      Louise Hunt

Veteran Men (40)​       John Lewis​​​                                     Colin Caesar​​                   Cameron Large

Veteran Women (35) ​Cath Barker​​​                                    Michelle Hoey​​

Veteran Men (50)​       Ian Warburton​​​                              Nigel Adams

Veteran Woman (45)​ Lisa Cleary​​​                                     Sarah Lees                       ​​Cath Tailby

Veteran Men (60)      ​Malcolm Bradley​​

Veteran Female (55) ​Yvonne Williams​​​​

For a full write up from Chris Seal on the club championship please see the Sospan 10 news item posted late last year.


We then moved on to the awards for Improver of the Year, this is an award given to a male and female member who consistently improves on previous performances. Our Male Winner was Ben and our Female Winner was Ruth, both of whom have had some amazing times in the past year.

Next up was the Off Road Championship, now in its’ second year. Thanks was extended to Malcolm for the organisation of the championship and finding some great races for us.

Male Winner was Andy Jones, with Marc Durkin Runner Up and Malcolm in third place.

Female Winner was Cath Tailby, with Ruth Cann Runner Up and Yvonne in third place.


This lovely photo of Ben awarding Cath her trophy typifies the club and the friendships we form through our running.

The final award of the evening was Chairman’s Choice. The award went to Ian Warburton in recognition of the time, effort and enthusiasm he puts in to our training. Ian organises our sessions, turns up to train us when he is injured or has already done his run, runs around Penarth finding new sessions and generally guides us through our training. He recently undertook a Coaching Course and is always willing to give guidance. The assistance Deb gives is also recognised. Thank both.

The Presentation complete, the buffet opened. Some lovely items piled on the table for us to share.

Then it was time for The Steve Hill Quiz. Steve had put together an excellent quiz that brought some close scores. In the end the top three teams were separated by just a few points. Steve tells us this is the ninth year he has done the quiz for us, so you would think we would have learnt the golden rule by now “The Quizmaster is Always Right”. Thanks Steve, we do appreciate you putting this quiz on for us and apologies for questioning you.


No Comments

Post A Comment